Summer 2018 Recap

Welcome back to the blog lovelies! Now that we’re almost a week into September, summer is officially over (I know, so sad!) However, September to December is my absolute favourite time of year. How can you not love the cosy sweaters, pumpkin spice, warm toned colours and of course the festivities for Christmas! My birthday also happens to be in December:) I am so excited to start sharing my Autumn/Fall posts with you and the Christmas themed ones in late November and December! Before that, I’m going to give you a rundown of my summer and all of my favourite moments!

Starting off summer with a bang, I headed to Venice, Italy with my family for a week! I fell in love with this place, as I expressed in one of my first blog posts a few weeks ago where I included a ton of photos. If you’ve never been, definitely put it on your travel list. The city is so unique and truly beautiful.

A few days after coming back from Italy I went to a camp for the week. I go here every year and we stay in this big house, learning about the Lord and making loads of amazing friends that I’ll hopefully know for a long time. This photo is from the formal at the end of the week, which is always so fun!

One of my favourite things to do is get on a train and visit somewhere with two of my friends, so this time we ended up in Castlerock at Mussenden temple. If you’re ever in Northern Ireland, this place is a must see! It’s so beautiful and the view from the cliff is amazing, especially at sunset.

Here’s a bonus photo from another trip we went on this summer!

I never expected this day to be a highlight of my summer, but we went to the zoo for the day and I loved it. At first I was apprehensive of it because the thought of animals being locked up is a red flag for me, but I guess these animals may not have been able to survive out in the wild as a lot of them were rescued. My new favourite animals are the monkeys in the photo above. It was a really nice day and I really enjoyed it.

I went to see Olly Murs at a kind of music festival for free! We got two last minute tickets to see him so I took my friend and it was so cool! He played all of his old hits so we were jamming out in the rain, as you can see from the people in the purple ponchos (even though I had no idea where you could get them from so I ended up soaked).

I love walking up mountains, or hiking I guess, so one day we took the dogs up to the top of Divis Mountain which was more of a small highlight, but was still something that stuck out to me as a good memory from this summer.

Just before the end of summer, 5 of my friends and I headed to Portrush for the day (the best place in Ni)! It ended up raining quite a bit and some of us ended up soaked, but we went to my favourite restaurant called the Ramore for dinner and had a little photoshoot at the beach huts!

On the last night of summer we went to a water assault course for my friend’s birthday and then had a barbecue and made s’mores to finish off the night.

One of the greatest parts of my summer was the launch of CoffeeeAndCream! I started this blog in August and am so glad that I did because I have had so much fun writing blog posts and talking to all of you! I’m determined to keep this blog up along with school, even if that means prewriting a lot of posts during exam season because I just love it!

So there you have it! A full recap of my summer 2018 highlights. What was your favourite part of summer this year?

Love, CoffeeeAndCream x

13 thoughts on “Summer 2018 Recap

  1. I’m glad you enjoy your blog. I enjoy all that you share. You make Northern Ireland seem so delightful, not that I ever thought it wasn’t. I really didn’t know much about it until now. December birthday’s are great! That’s when mine is also. Fall is so wonderful for all the reasons you stated and more. Thanks for sharing and creating such an enjoyable blog and for inviting me to experience your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. My day is December 23rd, though I have to share it with a lot of other people around the world. Still, it’s my day! 🙂 A lovely blog is definitely worthy of a “lovely” comment.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s great you know another person with the same birthday, it’s a great day for a birthday. All the lights, parties and celebration get to be ours for the day, even though it’s actually for someone else. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh, I understand completely. Still, there’s something so special about going to the city and seeing people in horse driven sleighs on my day. Enjoying themselves so much, smiles on their faces. The beauty of all the people with such expectations in their minds for the day to come that they value so much. I don’t value it much, not in the same way, but I enjoy seeing people feeling good and having fun. Summer is nice, but often so hot, at least here. I couldn’t share with July 4th, it isn’t really a celebration, except for the day. Even then it’s all about military people and their sacrifices. Sad sacrifices. Sometimes they feel so empty. Even if one believes in Christ and his sacrifice, it is a positive to those who believe. Giving his all for those he loves. Expressing unconditional love, though modern Christianity places it’s conditions upon it. I guess I just found my own way of sharing my day with the king of kings. A mere peasant taking a moment to celebrate the beauty of my own existence within the celebration of something much more than I.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment